bowlpaster.blogg.se

Apple 2009 mac pro power supply
Apple 2009 mac pro power supply














The process I was using to get the machine to boot was a bit flakey, however I've now narrowed it down to 100% reproducible sequence.

#Apple 2009 mac pro power supply mac

When booted up everything actually functions fine aside from the fan - I'm typing on the Mac now.ĭoes anyone have any suggestions as to what could be wrong, tests to diagnose or ideally a solution? I'm reasonably handy with a multimeter so if anyone has some power diagnosis steps then I can follow along easily enough. The Macbook is running the latest firmware/SMC. Disconnecting the power instantly turns the Mac off, so clearly it's really running off DC power. When booted fans are on again, but no power indicator of any sort is in my status bar (no battery, no DC power thunderbolt either). The power is connected but there is no light at all on the MagSafe. However, after reassembling the same problem persisted (SMC reset needed before booting).Īfter several SMC resets and boots, I've now got the Macbook in another state. I then gave everywhere else inside and out a clean and reassembled. I then replaced the hard-drive with a brand new SSD that has Yosemite installed (instead of Lion). I pulled apart the Macbook detached the MagSafe connector and cleaned some gunk off it. MagSafe handshake with another Mac, then SMC reset and it boots. If I turn the computer off it then won't boot again. the kind of stuff an SMC reset is supposed to fix).

apple 2009 mac pro power supply

However, when booted it said "No battery connected" and the fans remain on high power constantly (i.e. So I worked out that if I SMC reset, the Macbook will then proceed to boot. This is all 100% reproducible.Īnyway, the Macbook still wouldn't turn on (and the MagSafe indicator remains green - never orange). So it would seem that the White Macbook isn't completing the handshake but the MagSafe adapter works for a while after the handshake is completed on another Mac. I worked out that if I first connect the MagSafe adapter to another Macbook (a 13" Macbook Pro) and then plug it into the 13" White Macbook the green light turns on with White Macbook 13". However, it wouldn't power on or charge (no light on the MagSafe adapter). Grabbed out my old unused White Macbook 13" Mid 2009 (Macbook 5,2) because I'd like to donate it to someone.














Apple 2009 mac pro power supply